| Contact us @  |   Aa  ⇧ Français         
 
News room/ 2019-2020

Highlights 2019-2020


DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION

Over the past year, the legal aid network retained the services of the firm Klynveld, Peat, Marwick and Goerdeler (KPMG) to start its digital transformation project. KPMG conducted an analysis of the existing situation and developed recommendations for implementing the transformation. To do this, it met with and surveyed staff of the legal aid network, spoke with lawyers in private practice, surveyed clients, and held a brainstorming day with several partners in the justice system as well the directorates of the legal aid network.

Some proposed foundational projects have begun, such as the establishment of the governance of the transformation program and the recruitment process for the program director. Several other foundational and development projects will continue over the coming year.


NEGOTIATION OF THE TARIFF OF FEES OF LAWYERS IN PRIVATE PRACTICE


The tariff of fees of lawyers in private practice expired on September 30, 2017. 

Negotiations began on December 19, 2017 between the negotiators appointed by the Ministère de la Justice and the Barreau du Québec. In June 2019, a draft agreement in principle provided for all the upward adjustments in the various areas of law. 


On July 11, 2019, the Barreau rejected this draft agreement in principle and negotiations were suspended. 


On February 26, 2020, the Barreau du Québec announced the arrival of Me Lucien Bouchard on its negotiating team. As at March 31, 2020, no agreement had yet been reached.


INDEXATION OF THE ELIGIBILITY THRESHOLDS AND SUMMARY OF THE SUCCESSIVE INCREASES


On May 31, 2019, the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid were increased by 4.17%. This percentage is equal to the increase in the minimum wage on May 1, 2019. On January 1, 2016, the legal aid eligibility thresholds had been increased, with the minimum wage as a reference point. 

Thus a person who is single and works a 35-hour week at minimum wage, namely, $22,750 per year, is eligible for legal aid at no cost. Moreover, legal aid services are free to a family of two adults and two children whose income is less than $37,307.


The Québec legal aid plan also includes a component for individuals whose income falls between the eligibility thresholds for free legal aid and the maximum thresholds requiring a contribution (contributory legal aid). The contributory scheme offers a unique formula that allows individuals to be represented in court by a lawyer while knowing, in advance, the maximum amount of their legal fees and the costs that may be claimed from them. The contributory scheme allows an individual to receive legal services if his or her income, assets and liquidities match the eligibility scale in effect and if the individual pays a contribution ranging from $100 to $800, depending on the composition of the person’s family and the person’s financial situation. The eligibility scale for legal aid under the contributory scheme was also increased by 4.17%.


In summary, the enhanced financial eligibility criteria for legal aid affect working people with modest incomes as well as seniors whose principal source of income is their Old Age Security benefits and the Guaranteed Income Supplement.


The following show the changes in the eligibility thresholds since the increases began in 2005:

  • In 14 years, for a single person, the scale changed from $8,870 to $22,750, an increase of 156.5%.
  • In 14 years, for a single person, the maximum scale changed from $12,640 to $31,778, an increase of 151.4%.

The Commission des services juridiques developed tools to evaluate the number of cases which, were it not for the increase in the financial eligibility thresholds for legal aid since January 1, 2014, would not have qualified for legal aid. For the 2019-2020 year, this number amounted to 22,651.


CONSULTATIONS


A legal aid network working group of 10 legal aid staff family law lawyers prepared a brief in the context of the Ministère de la Justice’s public consultation on family law reform. The brief is available at: https://bit.ly/2DOk2vc (french only).

Another legal aid network working group, consisting of 12 legal aid staff lawyers specializing in the representation of children in youth protection matters, submitted a brief with the children’s point of view to the Commission spéciale sur les droits des enfants et sur la protection de la jeunesse (special commission on the rights of children and on youth protection). You can consult he brief at the following address: https://bit.ly/3izFCCs (french only)

.
Finally, a legal aid network working group was created in the context of the work carried out by the Comité d’experts sur l’accompagnement des victimes de violence conjugale et/ou d’agression sexuelle (experts’ committee on support for victims of conjugal violence and/or sexual assault). This group, made up of 11 lawyers from the network and the Commission des services juridiques specializing in family, criminal and youth protection law, presented a brief and made oral representations at a private consultation held in February 2020. Here is the link to consult the brief: https://bit.ly/31YUUKD (french only).



WORKING CONDITIONS AND LABOUR RELATIONS


Given that the collective agreements for lawyers and office employees expired on December 31, 2019 and March 31, 2020, respectively, a single management negotiating committee was established for all of the negotiating tables. Its purpose is to ensure uniformity and consistency in the working conditions offered to all of the unionized professionals and employees in the legal aid network, taking regional considerations into account.

Work on salary relativity continued during the past year, for the purpose of ensuring internal equity between the various employment classes for all of the network’s employees.


DEALINGS WITH PARTNERS AND INVOLVEMENT IN JUSTICE COMMITTEES


On May 17, 2019, the Young Bar of Montreal, in collaboration with the Commission des services juridiques and the Montreal Community Legal Centre, launched the “Guide d’organisation du travail et de facturation pour les avocats et avocates de pratique privée acceptant les mandats d’aide juridique” (work organization and billing guide for lawyers in private practice who accept legal aid mandates).

In November 2019, the Commission des services juridiques entered into a partnership agreement with the Québec bar school in regards to a pilot project for a clinical activity involving lawyers working in legal aid offices and students undergoing professional training. This activity allowed the students to learn certain professional skills through practical experience.


On March 4, 2020, the Commission des services juridiques participated in a luncheon conference organized by the Young Bar of Montreal on the fees and disbursements of lawyers in private practice who accept legal aid.


The service agreement with Éducaloi was in its second year of application.


The Commission des services juridiques actively participated with partners in the following committees:

  • Forum sociojudiciaire autochtone (Aboriginal socio-judicial forum);
  •  Comité sur la pleine justice au Nunavik (committee on full justice in nunavik);
  • Comité interministériel SMA sur les demandeurs d’asile (deputy ministers’interdepartmental committee on asylum seekers;
  • Forum québécois sur l’accès à la justice civile et familiale (Québec forum on access to justice in civil and family law);
  • Table ronde sur la justice participative-Barreau de Montréal (Bar of Montreal round table on participatory justice);
  • Appui à la création de l’Institut québécois de réforme du droit et de la justice (support for the creation of the Québec institute for law and justice reform).


INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION


From September 23 to 27, 2019, the Commission des services juridiques hosted a delegation of four representatives from the Burkina Faso Legal Aid Fund. The purpose of their visit was to obtain information on the Québec legal aid network in order to enable Burkina Faso to draw inspiration from Québec’s good practices in this area.


REGULATORY AMENDMENT


On October 1, 2019, s. 12 of the Regulation respecting legal aid was amended and now allows for the deduction from income of support payments received for the benefit of a child, up to $4,200 per year per child.


THE CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC


We cannot ignore the impact that the COVID-19 pandemic has had on our legal aid network since March 13, 2020. We would like to highlight the remarkable work done by legal aid network staff lawyers and office staff, who have provided essential services as defined by the courts and in accordance with the directives of the Government of Québec. In addition, we thank the 100 or so legal aid staff lawyers who participated in a free legal advice telephone line for citizens with questions about their rights and obligations in the context of the pandemic. The COVID-19 Legal Assistance Clinic was established by the Minister of Justice and the President of the 
Barreau du Québec, who mandated the Commission des services and the Centre d’accès à l’information juridique (CAIJ) to set it up. 

Moreover, during this period, the Commission des services juridiques introduced temporary flexibility measures for the payment of invoices for legal aid mandates accepted by lawyers in private practice and for the processing of legal aid applications.

































Picture of the section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017

| Nous joindre @  |   Aa  ⇧ English         
 
Salle de presse/ 2019-2020

Faits saillants 2019-2020


TRANSFORMATION NUMÉRIQUE

Au cours de la dernière année, le réseau de l’aide juridique a mandaté la firme Klynveld, Peat, Marwick et Goerdeler (KPMG) pour démarrer son projet de transformation numérique. KPMG a mené une analyse de la situation existante et a élaboré des recommandations pour la mise en œuvre de la transformation. Pour ce faire, elle a rencontré et sondé des employés du réseau de l’aide juridique, discuté avec des avocats de la pratique privée, sondé des clients et a tenu une journée idéation regroupant plusieurs partenaires du système judiciaire ainsi que les directions générales du réseau de l’aide juridique.

Certains projets de fondation proposés ont débuté, comme la mise en place de la gouvernance du programme de transformation ainsi que le processus de recrutement du directeur de programme. Plusieurs autres projets de fondation et de développement se poursuivront durant la prochaine année.


NÉGOCIATION DES TARIFS DES HONORAIRES DES AVOCATS DE LA PRATIQUE PRIVÉE

Les tarifs des honoraires des avocats de la pratique privée sont échus depuis le 30 septembre 2017. 

Des négociations ont débuté le 19 décembre 2017 entre les négociateurs désignés par le ministère de la Justice et le Barreau du Québec. En juin 2019, un projet d’entente de principe prévoyait l’ensemble des ajustements à la hausse dans les différents domaines de droit.

Le 11 juillet 2019, le Barreau a rejeté ce projet d’entente de principe. Dès lors, les négociations ont été suspendues.

Le 26 février 2020, le Barreau du Québec annonçait l’arrivée de Me Lucien Bouchard au sein de son équipe de négociation. Au 31 mars 2020, aucune entente n’avait encore été intervenue.


INDEXATION DES SEUILS D’ADMISSIBILITÉ ET BILAN DES HAUSSES SUCCESSIVES

Le 31 mai 2019, les seuils d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique gratuite ont été haussés de 4,17 %. Ce pourcentage correspond à celui de la hausse du salaire minimum du 1er mai 2019. Le 1er janvier 2016, les seuils de l’admissibilité à l’aide juridique avaient été haussés, avec comme référence le salaire minimum. 

Ainsi, une personne seule complétant une semaine de travail de 35 heures au salaire minimum, soit 22 750 $ par année, est admise gratuitement à l’aide juridique. De plus, les services seront gratuits pour une famille formée de deux adultes et de deux enfants dont les revenus sont inférieurs à 37 307 $.

Le régime québécois d’aide juridique comporte également un volet pour les personnes dont les revenus se situent entre les seuils de l’admissibilité gratuite et les seuils maximums avec contribution (volet contributif). Ce volet offre une formule unique qui permet à un justiciable d’être représenté par un avocat devant les tribunaux en connaissant, à l’avance, le coût maximum des honoraires et des frais qui pourraient lui être réclamés. Ce volet permet à une personne de recevoir des services juridiques si ses revenus, biens et liquidités correspondent au barème d’admissibilité en vigueur et si elle verse une contribution financière variant entre 100 $ et 800 $, selon sa composition familiale et sa situation financière. Le barème d’admissibilité à l’aide juridique sous le volet contributif a été également haussé de 4,17 %.

Voici l’évolution depuis le début de l’augmentation de la hausse des seuils en 2005 :

  • En 14 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème est passé de 8 870 $ à 22 750 $, soit une augmentation de 156,5 %.
  • En 14 ans, pour une personne seule, le barème maximum est passé de 12 640 $ à 31 778 $, soit une augmentation de 151,4 %.

La Commission des services juridiques a développé des outils lui permettant d’évaluer le nombre de dossiers qui, n’eût été la hausse des seuils d’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique depuis le 1er janvier 2014, n’auraient pas été admissibles à l’aide juridique. Pour l’exercice 2019-2020, ce nombre s’élève à 22 651.


CONSULTATIONS

Un groupe de travail du réseau de l’aide juridique formé de 10 avocats permanents spécialisés en droit de la famille ont rédigé un mémoire dans le cadre de la consultation publique du ministère de la Justice sur la réforme du droit de la famille. Le mémoire peut être consulté à l’adresse suivante : https://bit.ly/2DOk2vc

Un autre groupe de travail du réseau formé de 12 avocats permanents spécialisés dans la représentation des enfants en protection de la jeunesse a fait parvenir en mars 2020 à la Commission spéciale sur les droits des enfants et sur la protection de la jeunesse un mémoire avec le point de vue des enfants. Vous pouvez consulter le mémoire à l’adresse suivante : https://bit.ly/3izFCCs

Finalement, un groupe de travail du réseau de l’aide juridique a été créé dans le cadre des travaux du Comité d’experts sur l’accompagnement des victimes de violence conjugale et/ou d’agression sexuelle. Ce groupe, composé de 11 avocats du réseau et de la Commission des services juridiques spécialisés en droit familial, criminel et en protection de la jeunesse, a présenté un mémoire et fait des représentations orales lors d’une consultation privée tenue en février 2020. Voici le lien pour consulter le mémoire : https://bit.ly/31YUUKD


CONDITIONS ET RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL

Les conventions collectives des avocats et des employés de bureau étant échues respectivement depuis le 31 décembre 2019 et le 31 mars 2020, un comité de négociation patronal unique à toutes les tables a été mis sur pied. Il a pour objectif de s’assurer de l’uniformité et de la cohérence dans les conditions de travail offertes à l’ensemble des professionnels et employés syndiqués du réseau de l’aide juridique dans le respect des particularités régionales.

Les travaux de l’exercice de la relativité salariale se sont poursuivis au cours de la dernière année dont le but est de s’assurer de l’équité interne entre les différentes catégories d’emplois pour l’ensemble des salariés du réseau.

RELATIONS AVEC LES PARTENAIRES ET IMPLICATIONS DANS LES COMITÉS DE JUSTICE

Le 17 mai 2019, le Jeune Barreau de Montréal, en collaboration avec la Commission des services juridiques et le Centre communautaire juridique de Montréal, a lancé le « Guide d’organisation du travail et de facturation pour les avocats et avocates de pratique privée acceptant les mandats d’aide juridique ».

En novembre 2019, la Commission des services juridiques a conclu une entente de partenariat avec l’École du Barreau pour un projet pilote d’une activité clinique entre des avocats travaillant dans des bureaux d’aide juridique et des étudiants de la formation professionnelle. Cette activité a permis à ces derniers d’apprendre certaines habiletés professionnelles par l’expérience pratique.

Le 4 mars 2020, la Commission des services juridiques a participé à un dîner-conférence organisé par le Jeune Barreau de Montréal sur la tarification des honoraires et déboursés des avocats de pratique privée acceptant l’aide juridique.

L’entente de service avec Éducaloi était à sa deuxième année d’application.

La Commission des services juridiques a participé activement avec les partenaires aux comités suivants :
  • Forum sociojudiciaire autochtone;
  • Comité sur la pleine justice au Nunavik;
  • Comité interministériel SMA sur les demandeurs d’asile;
  • Forum québécois sur l’accès à la justice civile et familiale;
  • Table ronde sur la justice participative-Barreau de Montréal;
  •  Appui à la création de l’Institut québécois de réforme du droit et de la justice.

COLLABORATION INTERNATIONALE

La Commission des services juridiques a accueilli du 23 au 27 septembre 2019 une délégation de quatre représentants du Fonds d'Assistance Judiciaire du Burkina Faso. L’objectif de leur visite était d’obtenir des informations sur le réseau québécois d’aide juridique afin de permettre au Burkina Faso de s’inspirer des bonnes pratiques du Québec en cette matière.

MODIFICATION RÈGLEMENTAIRE

Depuis le 1er octobre 2019, l’article 12 du Règlement sur l’aide juridique est modifié et permet maintenant de déduire des revenus les pensions alimentaires reçues au bénéfice d’un enfant, jusqu’à concurrence de 4 200 $ par année par enfant.


LA PANDÉMIE DU CORONAVIRUS

Nous ne pouvons pas passer sous silence les conséquences qu’a eues sur notre réseau d’aide juridique la pandémie du COVID-19 à compter du 13 mars 2020. Soulignons le travail remarquable fait par les avocats permanents et les employés de bureau du réseau de l’aide juridique qui ont assuré les services essentiels tels que définis par les tribunaux et conformément aux directives du gouvernement du Québec. Sans compter la centaine d’avocats permanents d’aide juridique qui ont participé à une ligne téléphonique de conseils juridiques gratuits destinée aux citoyens ayant des questions concernant leurs droits et obligations dans le contexte de la pandémie. Cette Clinique d’assistance juridique COVID-19 a été mise en place par la ministre de la Justice et le bâtonnier du Québec qui ont mandaté la Commission des services et le Centre d’accès à l’information juridique (CAIJ) pour son instauration. 

Par ailleurs, la Commission des services juridiques a mis de l’avant pendant cette période des mesures temporaires d’assouplissement pour le paiement des factures des mandats d’aide juridique aux avocats de la pratique privée et le traitement des demandes d’aide juridique.





Photo de la section
© Commission des services juridiques Création: Diane Laurin - 2017